Death (effect) and Taxes (cause)

You wanna know something fun? It’s possible to be as poor as you’ve ever been the EXACT SAME YEAR you make more money than you ever have before. Isn’t that kooky*?

It turns out that if your summer internship doesn’t take out money for taxes, and no one notices until March 24th, you just have to write a giant check to the IRS. And there’s really nothing I love more than giving people the money I earned.

Lately it seems like everything in my life revolves around how much money I have (or don’t have). The economy has become like the new global warming—the ultimate scapegoat.

Person A: Why didn’t you do the dishes?

Person B: Dude, in THIS economy?

But I really am trying to stay optimistic. I mean, there’s a pretty good chance I’m going to have an internship this summer that will pay me $20 a day! Ka-Ching! (That’s a cash register noise…it’s better in person. Don’t believe me? My roommate Emma will vouch that I’m excellent at sound impressions.)

And, I mean, any DAY now things are going to start picking up. Right? RIGHT?

*effed up

2 thoughts on “Death (effect) and Taxes (cause)

  1. Pingback: The Bridges Are Burning « Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One

  2. Pingback: Life lesson #28 « Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One

Comments are closed.