One dress two ways…or else

I don’t do a lot of fashion-related posts on here (you know, aside from when I’m whining about things I can’t afford or worrying that I look like an extra from Saved By The Bell). It’s not that I don’t know anything about the topic (I was voted Best Dressed my senior year of high school. Get it, meaningless paper certificate.), it’s just that in general I don’t have too much to say about it.

Unless, of course, fashion would somehow become intermingled with awkwardness, which I write about like it’s my JOB. (It’s not, I swear. It’s my job to write about this.)

We already know that some of my best ideas have been born out of desperation, so why should this be any different. To catch you up, I accidentally locked my keys in my apartment yesterday. (Enter reason number two of the only two bad things about living alone.) This has only happened one other time since moving to the new place, and that time my landlady was home and simply let me in. This time, however, I think I may have caught her having a torrid romance because she wasn’t home at 9 last night and apparently hasn’t been home since. (Scandal!)

Fortunately, I can shower/sleep at the Fiance’s parents’ house. Unfortunately, all my clothes are still in my apartment. Fortunately, he has a sister my age that I can borrow from. Unfortunately, she’s quite a bit skinner than I am so my options are limited.

Which leaves me with this sad truth: I’m wearing basically the same thing I did yesterday.

Before you get all hygiene police on me, let me explain. Yesterday I wore a navy dress, gray tights and heels, a lilac sweater, pearl necklace, and my hair in a ponytail. Today I’m wearing a navy dress, gray tights and heels, a silver necklace my future mother-in-law gave me last night, a white sweater (future sister-in-law’s), and a navy dress sash thing I found in their laundry room and fashioned into a belt. With my hair down. It’s a totally different look! (I explained this to the Fiance and he said, “Are you sure they’ll even recognize you?” He’s a funny one!)

I actually don’t know if anyone would notice if not for the shoes (and if I didn’t work in an office that is 99% fashion-conscious women), so I’m giving myself major sartorial props for this one.

Desperate times call for desperate outfits. Or at the very least, a spare key.

7 thoughts on “One dress two ways…or else

  1. thanks so much for joining in on the swap and adding the button to your blog~!!! so happy to have you!! hopefully the gloves will help make the cold more bearable!!!

  2. The NY Times did an article a few months ago about a group of women who tried to pare down their wardrobe to just 10 items, I believe, and then wear only 10 items for a month. They were doing it for the sake of simplifying their lives and proving the point that you don’t need a lot of material possessions. I think that, at the end of the month, the women asked coworkers and friends if they noticed. I mean, they were basically wearing the same thing every day. But no one noticed! I’m totally paraphrasing this story, so some of it might be untrue, but you get the gist.

  3. I locked myself out of my room once last year. But rather than running back to West Des Moines with my tail between my legs, i KICKED THE DOOR DOWN

  4. I got locked out of my house last week, I got a ladder and climbed through my window. You should try it

Comments are closed.