To the Tune of “Camptown Races”

It’s my last final e-ever, doo-dah, doo-dah! It’s my last final e-ever, all the doo-dah day!

I’m a little excited.

excitement

Ok, that’s an understatement. My excitement is almost overwhelming. I can’t even believe it. Last final! Ever!

By 2 o’clock (a mere 2.45 hours away), I will be completely done with my college education. But you know, it wasn’t all that long ago that I was a sweet, innocent college student like some of you, so here’s a bit of advice:

1. Save your pennies. Yes, I know. Eating out for almost every meal and buying new clothes and gadgets and whatnot seems tempting, but someday you will want a nice apartment in a nice neighborhood in one of the most expensive cities in the world, and THEN where will you be?

2. Be nice to your parents. They drive you crazy, and maybe some of the times you were mad at them you had a good reason. But bottom line: they love you more than anyone ever will. And their craziness? A by-product of that love. So grit your teeth and bear it. No one is ever on their death bed wishing they hadn’t been nicer.

3. Learn to let go. Grudges are fun and all (I think they burn calories or something), but at some point, your mental sanity requires that you relinquish bad feelings and grow up. Which isn’t to say you have to let people kick you around. Just mend the relationships you can, cut your losses for the ones you can’t, and get on with your life.

Ok, so the next time you see me, I’ll have earned that goofy hat and oh-so-flattering gown. Peace.

One thought on “To the Tune of “Camptown Races”

  1. There is a Bud Light sign illuminated above your head. Why does that strike me as being SO hilarious?

    xx

Comments are closed.