Dolla dolla bills y’all

Life lesson #72: The dollar store may be the single greatest establishment ever.

I have a confession.

I love the dollar store.

I know what you’re thinking: Justine, this is all…so sudden! You’re too young to know for sure! It’s only been a week!

But I don’t care, I tell you! I don’t care!

I don’t know if you realize this or not, but you can buy just about anything at the dollar store. (By the way, ours is called Big D’s. Yet another reason why I adore it so.)

I know what you’re thinking now, too: But Justine, it’s the dollar store. The stuff is probably cheap generic crap that falls apart and doesn’t really work.

Au contraire! It is actually cheap generic wonderfulness that usually doesn’t fall about and usually works.

For example, my two favorite dollar store purchases at the moment are these canvas boxes I bought to store stuff under my bed and on high shelves in my closet:

DSCN0116

And this toilet bowl cleaner:

DSCN0117

Do you know what the namebrand version of this toilet bowl cleaner would have cost me? At least $14. At the dollar store, the generic-but-equally-effective version goes for (wait for it)…ONE DOLLAR.

Of course, “dollar store” is sort of a misnomer. In reality, not everything is a dollar. But the prices are still so low, you won’t even mind.

Now if you’ll excuse me, my friend George Washington and I have some shopping to do.

One thought on “Dolla dolla bills y’all

Comments are closed.