Shame spiraling

I’d like to share something with you that I’m not entirely proud of.

Virtually everything I ate today was made solely of carbs.

It’s not like I’m one of those crazies who have cut carbs completely out of their life. (Seriously, I don’t think I’m capable of that.) But I do believe in moderation with just about everything. (Except like, vegetables. No holds barred there.)

Today, however, was not a day of moderation. Here’s how it went down:

10 a.m. – Peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat bread.

11:30 a.m. – Free iced coffee courtesy of Bobby, my fellow intern. (He also got it free because he’s the luckiest human alive.)

12:00 p.m. – Second peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat.

2:00 p.m. – Half of a soft pretzel and a diet Coke

3:00 p.m. – This s’more/peanut butter cookie thing

4:00 p.m. – Second half of pretzel

8:00 p.m. – Plain donut from Erin

So basically, I am now in the throes of carboverload guilt. Which is a special kind of guilt reserved for the especially gluttonous.

Which brings me to my point. I’ve been sort of lackluster in my exercising since moving because I haven’t had a gym (although I KNOW, Shape magazine, that ISN’T an excuse!). Plus, I walk a lot at very high speeds. What I’m saying is that I haven’t gained weight or anything, just haven’t been keeping myself as healthy as I normally do. So I’m promising here that I’m going to start running again, because there really isn’t any reason not to. I have time virtually every morning as long as I get up at seven, and I even have a nice little street to run up to this park near me.

So you all heard me, and now I can’t back out. Which is the inspiration for the most recent life lesson:

Life lesson #88: If you want to commit to a decision, tell as many people as possible.

I figure the Internet is enough people.

One thought on “Shame spiraling

Comments are closed.