Hurts so good

I was having lunch with my friend Sarah last Thursday, discussing my current lack of a job and the general crappiness of the industry we both love, as well as the merits of up and moving to the most expensive city in the country under these conditions, when she made an excellent observation about living in New York:

”I always tell my parents living in New York is like being in an abusive relationship; when it’s bad, it’s bad, but when it’s good, it’s so good.”

I know what you’re thinking: “Um…shouldn’t you like, get out of an abusive relationship?”

Well, in most cases, yeah. Sure.

But this is different! I reeeeeally love it here! And New York loves me! It does! New York always makes it up to me!

I think you see where my problem lies.

The point is, maybe I have to endure a little abuse to be with the one I love. But it will all work out in the end.

…I don’t condone abusive relationships.

One thought on “Hurts so good

  1. I have so many issues with this post.

    I know you know exactly what they are.

    Abuse is never a joke.

    However, my darling Justine, oh how right you are. : )

Comments are closed.