Patience is…something.

I’m probably one of the more impatient people I’ve ever met.

Even when things seem to be going in a good direction, I can’t just sit tight and appreciate it; all I can think about is when they’re going to get better. Does this make me difficult or impossible to please? I don’t think so. I think it only gets bad when it’s something I’ve waited a long time for.

Case in point: A grown-up job. I love my internship. I do fun, different things every day. But I can’t help feeling like I Just. Want. To. Get. To. The. Next. Step. The step that involves a salary. And heck, maybe even a dental plan.

Fortunately, every once in a while something really good happens that makes the wait a little more bearable. Today, my boss told me I’m a really great writer. For a while, I didn’t even care that my weekly “salary” is less than what it would cost to buy my subway pass for the month.

So to sum up: Patient? No. Appreciated? Turns out, yeah. I can work with that.

2 thoughts on “Patience is…something.

  1. Pingback: The Luckiest « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.