The wonderful, awesome, fantastic, very good day

So, you should know that my productive day went rather well. I worked out. I got a haircut I really like. (See below)

DSCN0454

Was told that I look like Robin Scherbatsky from How I Met Your Mother. (I don’t see it, but, considering people always tell me I look like SOMEONE, shouldn’t be that surprising, I guess. But still, major compliment!) I had lunch with my lovely roommate Emma. I applied for a new social security card. My adorable boyfriend even surprised me in Brooklyn for dinner. And, oh yeah…

I ACCEPTED A JOB OFFER FROM THE KNOT, INC.

(That’s the wedding magazine I’ve been interning for all summer for basically nothing. To the few people I discovered yesterday who had no idea what I’ve been doing for the last three months.)

I’m going to be the online assistant editor to the site director. Starting October 15th. For a salary. And benefits. I’m seriously losing my mind right now. You know how people in really cheesy movies say stupid things like, “All my dreams are coming true?” Well folks, bring on the mush.

I just want to take a second to thank all the people who never gave up on me, who would repeatedly tell me “it’s going to work out,” and who were always there to listen to, sympathize (or empathize) with, or distract me from my troubles while I was having them. I love you all, and I couldn’t have done it without you.

Oh! You may also be wondering what will happen to the life lessons. As you may recall, I said I would stop when I got a job, and I plan to stick to that. The last lesson (#161) was a little ironic given what happened shortly after I wrote it, but what’s done is done. So, ladies and gentleman, I give you the final lesson, long-lost lesson #1:

Long-lost life lesson #1: Everyone loves a happy ending. (And a new beginning!)

10 thoughts on “The wonderful, awesome, fantastic, very good day

  1. ! ! ! ! i’m all filled with emotions for you lol excitement, pride lol, like .5% jealousy 🙂 but mostly so happy!! And I REALLY will visit you, and now since you’re there for keeps – I have no excuse CONGRATULATIONS ! ! ! !

  2. Words don’t do it, but I’ve never let that stop me before. My pride is magnified by the fact that with jobs non-existent, companies in total survival mode, etc., your skills and performance were such that a company CREATED A JOB just for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    P.S. I won’t hold you to your word on the life lessons if no one else will. I like them. And speaking from experience, experience never ends.

  3. I will miss your life lessons and there are still many more you will learn. So, maybe you can reconsider. Love, Mom

  4. So, apparently I’m about, oh, 2 1/2 weeks late here, but CONGRATULATIONS, GIRL! You truly deserve it. Couldn’t be happier for ya. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Posts of 2009 « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

  6. Pingback: Nobody likes you when you’re 23 « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

  7. Pingback: Things people search « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

  8. Pingback: Don’t judge me « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.