Three servings of random in every post!

During my recent trip back to Des Moines, my mother asked me if I was buying fruits and vegetables (presumably to, you know, fend off scurvy). I chuckled, told her it was cute how she thought I could afford LUXURIES like produce, and went back to feasting on the lovely meal she had just made me.

Which is why I’m so excited right now. I just went grocery shopping. But not my usual eggs-bread-peanut-butter-milk-cereal-out-the-door grocery shopping. I went grocery shopping like a person with a job.

I bought TWO kinds of peppers, people!! THINK of the B vitamins and folic acid I’m going to be consuming!!

Phew, sorry. Lost my head a bit for a second there. I apologize for all the exclamation points. It won’t happen again.

I’m also on this mission (in the spirit of October Improvement Month) to cook more, so I bought exotic foods like marinade and slivered almonds and chicken. Don’t act like you’re not impressed.

In a similar (sort of) food vein, my former (sort of) employers, Condé Nast announced that they’re folding Cookie, the magazine I interned for last summer. I have to say, I think it’s a terrible mistake. Cookie is one of the few totally original magazines in the market, not to mention at CN, and there are incredible people working there. I wish them all the best of luck in the next chapter of their lives.

Sorry to get all heavy there for a second, I promise not to do that too often.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a piece of chicken to marinate.

2 thoughts on “Three servings of random in every post!

  1. Tonight I made CHILI!! With fresh peppers and onions and everything! I think my future hypothetical children might not hate me due to lack of food!

Comments are closed.