A subtle intrigue

Hey guys.

I have an embarrassing post topic today.

So…you know how punctuation is important to me?

Well, yesterday I mentioned to Emma that the one form of punctuation that I always found the most cryptic was the two-period ellipsis. As in:

I don’t know why you’re still mad..

Emma says this is just what happens when people accidentally forget the third period, but I always assumed it was intentional. Like, I’m not going to be so over-dramatic and “dun-dun-DUN!” about it as to require a full ellipsis, but I am sort of trailing off and still confused here.

So what do you think? Do you use the two-period ellipsis intentionally? Or am I just so in love with punctuation I’m subconsciously trying to create a new mark?

2 thoughts on “A subtle intrigue

  1. I thought 3 were required. Anything else is sheer carelessness or looks like the writer hit the period key too many times.. Which happens…

Comments are closed.