Soup Days of Winter

This is what I woke up to this morning:

Blizzard in Brooklyn, February 2010

This is how I felt about it:

Me, sad and bundled

And since I am no longer a student, it takes a heck of a lot more than that for me to get a snow day (unfortunately). So I braved the wintry mess to work. (Confession: Once I reached the bus stop, it actually wasn’t so bad. The subway was empty, so the ride in was actually much more pleasant than normal. But I digress.)

The weather continued to worsen, so much so that our office closed early. Woo! Which meant another trek back in even worse snow. Boo.

Here’s my opinion about my trip home:

Me, annoyed and damp

So I did the only thing you CAN do when you’re snowed in: made soup.

But not just any soup. My favorite soup. My mom’s Italian Wedding Soup. It’s delish. And so easy!

Sweet Italian sausage, 1/2 cup carrots, medium onion, diced and browned
3-4 cups kale, chopped
Boil together for 10 minutes in chicken broth with noodles. Serve.

What I’m saying is, I’ve made my piece with the snow-pocalypse. For now…

One thought on “Soup Days of Winter

Comments are closed.