Any friend of mine…

So you know how mixing worlds makes me nervous? I also kind of love it when it really works out.

For example, take my friend Susan. Susan and I met during the summer of 2008 when we were randomly paired up as roomies whilst partaking in a summer internship program in New York City. I had moved in before her and gone out to lunch with my parents, and when I came back, she was unpacking with her parents. She looked at me suspiciously and said, “Where are you from?” I said, “Des Moines, Iowa.” And she said, “ME TOO!”

She had seen my U. of Iowa hat on the dresser. It turned out that we had lived about 15 minutes apart from each other for the last 12 years of our lives. And been involved in the same extracurriculars. And both majored in journalism.

It was love at first sight.

Why am I sharing with you the love story that is Susan and me? Because as the next year went on (and we both went back to Iowa and worked at the same company…go figure), I started including Susan in other aspects of my life.

Other worlds, if you will.

As a result, Susan started dating one of my good friends from college. And she and my best friend from high school have used each other to replace me in their lives. (They deny that I can be replaced…as they giggle together over inside jokes and get jobs at the same place for next summer. Hrumph.)

Of course, I’m not actually mad about this. As a matter of fact, I kind of love when I don’t have to keep the people I love separate, for fear that worlds will collide with disastrous results.

Susan also loves this.

3 thoughts on “Any friend of mine…

  1. Pingback: I love love « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.