Home, Home on the Brain

I don’t have a lot of requirements for my dream home. To be more specific, I have two.

1. I want a garbage disposal. I know. I know. They jam up literally all the time, they’re knocked completely out of commission by something as pathetic as a chicken bone, and it makes it about a million times more likely that something like THIS will happen to me.

But the thought of spending my entire life having to avoid rinsing a dish in the sink or be forced to clean out the drain trap with MY HAND is enough to make me politely look the other way in terms of those potential cons. (Besides, what are the odds that my disposal will be haunted…right?)

2. Bookshelves. Lots. This requirement is actually much more important to me than the first one (although the first one is still important. Deal with it.). As you know, I love grammar and reading, so this should really come as no surprise.

So why do I bring this up now? Well, as some of you know, I’m getting ready to move into my first place sans roommates. Which means the decor of which is left to my sole discrection.

Now, naturally I cannot create THIS look:

Or this:

But I do have two of these bookshelves (that I built with my bare hands. You may recall.). So…I could maybe do something similar to this:

Heck, it’s a start.

Images courtesy of Delight by Design and Habitually Chic

5 thoughts on “Home, Home on the Brain

  1. cute cute! i am going to overflow my bookshelves soon. i consider this a good problem. but books are so heavy to move! how are you getting them to LI? (wait, dumb question… you got them to NYC after all)

  2. Okay, so you are NOT crazy for wanting a garbage disposal!!! I’ve had them all my life (that I can remember), and have only had a few problems. They are totally necessary! Like air conditioning (I live in Texas!), dish washers, microwaves…. they’re nice to have.

    Love the bookcases!

    And thank you for the sweet words on my blog!

  3. Pingback: New Apartment Pictures! « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.