Deep thoughts and shallow wants

So here’s the thing.

I never really intended to be one of those people who blogged every day. I mean, really, who CARES? And since I used to think personal blogs were just pointless and self-serving in general, I at one time promised to only blog when I truly had something interesting to say.

Well, there’s a problem with that philosophy.

Now, I should preface this by saying I’m still a bit averse to the idea of blogging for blogging’s sake, but the fact is, writing is a lot like working out. (No, not that you need a good partner. I kind of hate writing WITH someone) If you start falling out of the habit, it gets harder and harder to get back on the horse, if you will.

Case in point: When I’m making myself write a little each day (even if it is just a short post), I’m still writing every day. But when I start going a day or two or four without posting anything, then it becomes easier and easier to just slack off. (Plus my reader numbers plummet, and you KNOW I hate that.)

Anyway. Just something I’ve been thinking about that I apparently needed to jettison off into cyber space. I feel better, don’t you?

In other news, I’ve compiled a brief list of things I wish I had the dough to purchase:

1. Broadway tickets. I ended up with a ticket to A Little Night Music last night (it’s AMAZING GO RIGHT NOW WHY ARE YOU STILL READING GO), and not only did it make me miss my voice lessons like WHOA, it also made me wish I could experience stuff like that more. It’s weird having so much physically accessible, but still financially out of reach.

2. Ticket to Australia. I went to the show with some new friends who were visiting from down unda! (couldn’t help myself), and it only renewed my conviction to GO there someday.

And…that’s it. Apparently all I want is tickets. I’ve never related to Charlie Bucket so much in my life. (Except the love of chocolate thing. We go way back with that.)

3 thoughts on “Deep thoughts and shallow wants

  1. It’s so true – blogging IS a lot like working out! Writing forces you to think, and thinking keeps you sharp. There are many days when I really don’t feel like blogging, but I do it anyway; when I’m done, I usually feel like I learned or discovered something new. Keep it up! šŸ™‚

  2. I completely agree. I also actually believe that writing releases endorphins…non-research paper writing, that is. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Funny People « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.