The Last Course

You know what we haven’t done in a while? A Kitchen Adventures post!

And since it was my last night in my Brooklyn apartment/kitchen:

…I decided it was time to bust out a new recipe I’ve been meaning to make for a while. Mama Blanchard’s Lemon Chicken!

{It starts, as all good recipes do, with olive oil and butter}
{Add chicken, lightly floured in a flour and parmesan mixture}
{Lightly brown until golden}
{Remove chicken and add wine and chicken broth}
{Put chicken back in, simmer covered for 15 minutes}

Next, remove the chicken, add lemon juice and boil the sauce. (Next time, I will probably thicken the sauce a bit with corn starch. It was pretty runny.) Roast asparagus and cook couscous for sides.

Here was the final result:

(Sidenote: I know you’re supposed to get not-so-hot wines to cook with, but in my world, I’m using maybe a cup of wine for the recipe. That leaves the whole rest of the bottle. And since I don’t cook with wine THAT often, I say cook with good wine. Then some of it might even end up in the sauce, amiright?)

The boyfriend brought me a million boxes from work, so I rewarded him with food. (Get it, classical conditioning.) He thanked me by doing the dishes:

So, that’s it! The next kitchen adventure will take place in an entirely new (less high-tech) kitchen. The final packing progress report is:

Packed: EVERYTHING

Not Packed: NOTHING

Here’s to the next adventure!

3 thoughts on “The Last Course

  1. Would love to see pictures of the new apartment, when you are ready to show it off.

  2. Would love to see pictures of the cute boyfriend playing hockey, when you are ready to show him off.

Comments are closed.