Breaking up is hard to do

So about four times a month (or, you know, once a week…) I contemplate deleting my Facebook.

I always swore that when I was done with school, I would be done with the ‘Book, but then again, this was during a simpler time. A time before crappy FB chatting. A time before “liking.” A time when if a friend was posting wedding/baby pictures, you were FREAKED.

Now, it’s less weird for grown-ups to have an account. (Ahem.)

But you know what? Facebook is still kind of weird.

I still get a little eeked out at the idea of my info online. (Which, yeah, I know, I’m not exactly wearing a bag over my head on this here blog, but anything I say here I say with the INTENTION of everyone seeing it. I have a semblance of control.)

Plus, you know, Facebook is getting lame. There’s a new privacy scare every week. They’ve added too many things. It’s overwhelming, and whenever I do check my account (an occurrence that is becoming less and less frequent), I’m usually thoroughly annoyed at least 3% of the time.

I know what you’re thinking: Well, Justine (if that IS your real name), why don’t you just get off your high horse and delete your account then? Huh? HUH?!

First, calm down. Second, well, there’s always something that holds me back.

Firstly, I like posting pictures for my family/friends to see. (Though this happens a fraction of the amount it used to, amiright?) Of course, I always have this blog for that. But you know what this blog DOESN’T give me?

I’m just going to say it: I can’t stalk anyone on this blog. I would be TOTALLY out of the loop of everything my friends were doing. Because (surprise!) I’m horrible at keeping up with people sans technology. That doesn’t make me a bad person (it doesn’t!), it just means that I need a little help. And I get that help from Facebook.

Plus I would miss this.

So, what I’m saying is, I’ll stay. For now. Anyone else think about jumping ship?

4 thoughts on “Breaking up is hard to do

  1. I fantasize about leaving Facebook every once in a while, but then I remember the few really great things that have happened to me because of it. I am afraid of missing out on potential future opportunities. I just keep hoping that something better will come along.

  2. I heard that when you delete your facebook account, a little piece of your soul dies too =(

  3. I’m sort of an adult, and I would miss seeing all the stuff about others. If you (Justine) are bad at keeping up with others, I’m the Osama Bin Lame at it. Now, I don’t live in a cave, but if your best friend is the Wall Street jounal, it doesn’t leave much time for laughter and joy. So, yah, I’ve already cranked up my privacy controls to “friends only for EVERYTHING,” and said No, I don’t want you to share me with Microsoft, etc. (Which generates a message that my birthday or something now won’t be visible to my friends, (subtle threat), but I swallowed hard and said, “OK Mr./Ms. Facebook Product Manager, you don’t scare me!”, and disconnected from corporate advertising avarice, denying all my friends every detail. Everything I care about still works, so who cares? Geez, did I just write my own blog?

  4. I stalk, so even though I don’t trust facebook, I won’t be leaving.

    #honeststatementFTW????

Comments are closed.