Excuse me, I think you’re wrong.

Challenging an authoritative figure is a weird thing.

It probably comes as no surprise that I’m not exactly a rebel-rouser. I mean, I’ll defend myself, but I’d rather not upset an equilibrium if I don’t have to (although more recently I’ve found that confrontation can have its perks). I’m also almost always a teacher’s pet, so telling someone who is superior to me that I think they made a mistake is not always something I relish.

I was recently confronted with my fear of confrontation (yuk yuk yuk) at work, and even though I knew I was right, I still felt like I instantly morphed into that freshman in the upper-level English class that no one can stand.

Do you think it will affect my grade?

One thought on “Excuse me, I think you’re wrong.

  1. It’s not what we say, but how we say it. Always offer criticism as a gift, (with a pretty bow).

Comments are closed.