I’m a little competitive

I keep forgetting it’s September. I think it has partly to do with the number of people in my neighborhood who have already put out their Halloween decorations, but it might also have something to do with the fact that I’m just excited for fall.

Oh well. It will be October in a little over a week, so I’m not going to worry about my inability to acknowledge September.

Speaking of next month, my friend Annie at work (no, not that Annie) and I have decided to spend the next few months having two “biggest loser” challenges. One is actually weight loss-related; the other is a quote-unquote competition to grow our hair. (On our heads. This isn’t one of my brother’s weird face hair growing challenges.)

I tried explaining this to The Fiance, and the conversation went like this:

Him: So, you’re just going to let your hair grow?

Me: Yup.

Him: Which you’ve been doing anyway?

Me: You got it.

Him: So…what’s the competition?

Me: Every time our hair grows an inch, the other person has to buy us a $5 gift.

Him: Is there skill involved in that?

Me: It’s more fun this way.

And you know what? It is. And I’m hoping the fun transfers to the OTHER competition too, though we haven’t worked out the rewards system yet. We’re waiting to start that one until The Fiance and I join a gym, which we’re doing shortly. We have big plans to look amazing at our wedding, so…yeah.

Plus, I’m marginally competitive, so making it a competition ought to help me stick with it and not cheat. (You know how I feel about cheaters.)

Anyways, if I start resembling some sort of super fit hair bush in the next few months, just know I’m not a freak — I’m a winner.

6 thoughts on “I’m a little competitive

  1. I LOVE the idea of you two giving each other $5 gifts for your hair growth, hilarious, I can’t wait to hear more about this! And Biggest Loser starting makes me think of our weeks working out and/or eating ice cream on Tuesdays 🙂

  2. I don’t like you having other friends named Annie. When I meet other Justines I say – “Nice to meet you, but we can’t be friends…I already have a Justine”. I would expect the same from you.

  3. Pingback: Imaginary (Work) Friends « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.