Your outfit is inappropriate

This will probably come as no surprise to those of you who know me in person, but I’m a chronic overdresser.

Part of it, I’m sure, has to do with the fact that due to my schedule, if I’m going anywhere that requires dressing up at any part of the day, I have to be dressed like that all day. Also, I hate changing more than twice in the same day. Also, I just prefer dresses and skirts to pants any day of the week.

For example, the Friday before I went camping, I wore camping clothes to work since I was leaving straight from there. “Camping clothes” are worn jeans, tennis shoes, and a nubby sweater. It was hardly flattering, and I didn’t feel like myself all day.

That being said, I also find it kind of hilarious to be overdressed for the most casual of activities.

This weekend, my friends Sam and Craig and I had about two hours to kill in between two activities that required suits and dresses (respectively). I suggested bowling (an inspired idea, if I do say so myself).

Could we have gone home to change first? Well sure, if we wanted to spend the two hours driving to our three respective homes, changing, then driving back to our homes to change back.

Even so, Sam was a little dubious.

“We’re going to bowl? In our suits?”

That’s exactly what we’re going to do.

image

image

image

Yeah, Craig pushed up his suit jacket sleeves. I believe my exact response was, “Uh, yeah, that’s probably what’s holding you back…”

The highlight (besides, ahem, winning the first game and tying for first place with the average) was when the guy at the front desk looked us up and down and asked if we were coming from a “wedding or something.” (Cue me: “What if we were? You guys should bowl after my wedding.”)

And considering how well I bowled whilst overdressed, I may never bowl in pants again.

5 thoughts on “Your outfit is inappropriate

  1. “Hi, (uncomfortable pause as the stares are thrown like hot coals) one bowling please.” And so the fun began.

  2. Nothing wrong with being overdressed. Plus you can always say your going some place nicer after Your current event that requires your attire

Comments are closed.