I think, therefore I’m awake

I find that the less I think in the morning, the better off I am. For example, when I wake up at 5:30 to shower before work, if I really thought about it, I’d probably conclude that 5:30 is waaaay too early to wake up when it’s raining and aren’t updos chic anyhow?

When I don’t think, I simply slog my body from bed and into the shower before I truly realize this is reality and not one of those dreams where you get all ready for school only to wake up for realz and have to do it all over again.

In essence, I’m tricking my brain. I simply take it along for the ride, none the wiser.

Of course, this plan is not fool proof. I have to start thinking at some point, lest I walk out of the shower without rinsing the shampoo or forget to put my keys in my bag. This is usually also the time, incidentally, that I become acutely aware of the burning behind my eyes.

Generally, though, I wouldn’t say I become truly aware of my surrounding until I’m safely tucked away on the train. (Lord knows I’m not sleeping there.) You take away the dripping coats, discomfort from lack of personal space, and loud commuters, and the train is almost cozy (at least when compared with the cold, rainy world you see through the windows).

So I guess that’s something to think about.

One thought on “I think, therefore I’m awake

Comments are closed.