Baby, it’s cold outside

I’ve been trying really hard not to complain about the cold. Or rather, not to complain about the cold yet. Because lord knows it’s not going to get any warmer for at least three more months, and the last thing any of us want is to listen to me whine for an entire season.

That being said, I really think I need a warmer coat.

I find I’m always reluctant to spend money on any kind of clothing that isn’t dresses, skirts, or nice shirts. I rarely buy real pajamas, nice unmentionables are an infrequent splurge, and even buying new jeans is an event brought on by sheer necessity.

The same goes for outerwear. While I can buy a scarf, hat, or gloves on impulse, a coat is an investment. If you’re going for quality, you’d be hard-pressed to spend under $150.

And even though the thought of dropping that on something not wedding- or rent-related turns my stomach a bit, I quite literally think I will die mid-January if I don’t.

But I  want to make sure the expense is worth it. Which is where you come in.

So, what’s the best/warmest/still kinda cute coat you’ve ever owned?

5 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside

  1. Eddie Bauer. Its like I strapped two sheep to each side of me. But its still reasonably cute!

  2. H&M. Got my favorite coat ever for $70. Granted it may be better suited for LA winters rather than proper winters…

  3. For commuting in and around Manhattan, get a parka. I have two n they’re the warmest coats ever. Most go below your waist which helps and they all have hoods for when its raining/snowing or windy… brand not important, just the style

Comments are closed.