Frittatas sound fancy

I haven’t been cooking as much lately. It’s not that I’ve lost interested in the idea, I just eat at home a lot less than I used to. Lunch (and often times, breakfast) takes place at work. And when I get home for dinner, The Fiance and I will usually grab something out or eat dinner that his parents’ have made at their house. (Delicious AND cost-effective!)

But Saturday a couple friend of ours had a bunch of people over for breakfast, and I figured it would be a great opportunity to make something new. Frittatas!

The best things about breakfast foods is that they have fancy names, but aren’t actually difficult to make. French toast? Sounds exotic and European, but it’s actually just bread dipped in egg and pan-fried. Omelet? Eggs mixed with literally whatever you throw in them.

And frittatas. Which, in principle are very similar to frittatas, but are baked like a pie. Quiche without the crust is how I described it.

I used a recipe my mom sent me, but then mixed up the ingredients for a second frittata. The first one had red pepper, red onion, chicken apple sausage, and mozzarella. The second one had asparagus, spinach, mozzarella, and feta cheese.

Here’s how it went down:

{saute chopped peppers and onions in olive oil}

{saute chopped asparagus and spinach in olive oil}

{mix a dozen eggs with 1/2 cup of half and half; divide into two parts}

{Combine veggies with egg mixture; pour into greased pie pans and bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes}

{ta-da!}

So there you have it. A super simple breakfast treat that will please just about anyone (and is a snap to personalize!). I should do this cooking thing more often.

One thought on “Frittatas sound fancy

  1. I was there and enjoyed it. That apple whatever sausage pie was very good. And yes I’m calling it a pie because I Don’t feel like scrolling up And getting the correct spelling of That word that starts with F

Comments are closed.