The good with the bad

So, we had a blizzard.

Given my somewhat open sharing policy when it comes to my opinions on winter and the LIRR, the loyal readers among you probably assume I’ve hated every second of the last 48 hours. But you know what? Maybe I’ve just become desensitized to uncomfortable travel, but it hasn’t been that bad.

Monday I had a snow day. Normally I feel a little guilty for taking a snow day, but this time the entire train system was shut down. The ENTIRE train system. So I wasn’t getting to work no matter how much anyone wanted me too. And since most of my office was in the same predicament, I didn’t feel too bad. And I had a lovely day off with the fiance.

Yesterday was fairly unpleasant, but mostly because bad weather turns people into idiots.

I always knew (after almost 12 Midwest winters) that everyone forgets how to drive after through first big snow fall. But apparently most of them forget how to function in general out here too.

For example, true or false: Stopping at the bottom AND the top of crowded stairwells to take in your surroundings is a bad idea.

The answer is true. Normally I would leave a painfully obvious question like that rhetorical, but I’ve come to realize that is giving the general population waaaay to much credit.

But anyway. I can deal with people not knowing how to properly use a sidewalk. The only truly painful part of yesterday was the train ride home. It. Was. So. Crowded.

And people were just being jerks. And even though the train was filled beyond what I’m sure a safe capacity would be, we still had to stop at each station to pretend to let more people crowd on. And to listen to the conductors explain that we weren’t going anywhere if the doors weren’t closed, “so if the door is closing on you, please step off the train.”

In that moment, you hate the person refusing to get off the train. I totally understand where they’re coming from, and I would obviously be doing the same thing if I was them, but I still hate them. C’est la vie, right?

But anyway. I got home. And through fiance had been kind enough to drive me to the train the last few mornings. So all in all, my commute had probably been less annoying than normal.

See? Not as bitter as you thought, right?

4 thoughts on “The good with the bad

  1. If we’re keeping score, it took me 3 hours to get home yesterday n 2.5 to get to work today. . And I’m only 2 stops past yours!

Comments are closed.