It’s in the bag

Hiya, folks.

Well, I’m feeling (and looking) much better than last week. And it finally seems like my cough is calming down too. I mean, it’s still there (and actually sounds grosser), but it’s definitely less frequent. And let’s be honest, the gross coughs are more satisfying anyway, right? At least you feel like the cough is doing something.

Anyone else tired of talking about my bodily functions? Good. Let’s talk about how dumb I am instead.

So most of the time I carry my important cards and identification in a fairly sizeable wallet. We’re not talking George Costanza sizeable, but it’s bug enough to hold my license, debit/credit cards, tickets, random membership cards, change, and the occasional cash. I like my wallet, but when I want to carry a smaller purse, I switch to a slimmer version that just holds the license, a card or two, and a few bills.

As you know, I need a giant purse to get through my week days, so this small purse scenario only ever happens on the weekend. And it’s success is contingent on remembering to switch back on Monday, lest I get stuck without an emergency credit card or, you know, my LIRR ticket. Which happens to also be my subway ticket.

I think you can guess where this is going.

The worst part of realizing you don’t have your train ticket two stations into your morning commute is wondering what they’re going to do to you. I mean, you can buy a ticket on the train, but only if you have cash. I rarely do, which, I know, dumb idea. I’ll work on it.

Fortunately, I happened to have exactly $12 in my tiny wallet this morning, which was apparently the exact ticket cost. (Total disclosure: I have never spent less than $17 on an onboard ticket, and I kind of suspect the ticket guy took pity on me. Either way, I’m eternally grateful.)

So…I’ll have to pay for a few subway rides and a ticket home today. It’s super annoying considering how much I already spend on transportation every month, but it’s better than getting thrown off the train.

Which, yes, is what I imagine they do to people who can’t pay.

5 thoughts on “It’s in the bag

  1. A guy sitting across from me on the train last week only had $6 when his ticket cost $9, the conductor fake “yelled” at him but took his money and gave him the ticket, which is what I feel like they usually do, unless you’re sketchy, which I’m sure you’re not 🙂
    On another topic, I too have a super disgusting cough, but due to the other symptoms I experienced terribly Friday night, I’ve been quarantined and am bored out of my ind not leaving my house, so at least you got to go to work today 🙂 Hope things are looking up!
    ~michelle

  2. It’s clear that Jeri is your mother. She’s an official member of the purse switching, non-cash carrying, worried about everything else club.

  3. I promote never carrying cash. Cash is inconvienent and if ever stolen never retrievable. I applaud your non-cash-carrying efforts. Although I am with Joe on this one, would you change a horse mid-stream? You know better than that, horses hate being changed while in the middle of a stream. How do you think your old purse feels? … you never … ever … change a purse …. mid-season.

  4. Pingback: Duck, duck, fail. « Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.