So, um…

The title of this post is how the fiance starts every conversation he feels is going to be uncomfortable. As in:

“So, um…I can’t pick you up tonight.”

I’ve noticed myself doing it more lately too. It’s sort of a spring board, and it keeps you from chickening out and not saying anything. It’s a more time-efficient version of “I need to talk to you about something.”

Although, once you figure out that “so, um…” usually means bad, or at least awkward news, it usually freaks you out almost as much as “we need to talk.”

So, um…I need to tell you guys something…

Tomorrow is my last day at my job.

I’ve literally drafted this post in my head upwards of ten times because, while a lot of you already knew this was coming, for a lot of you it probably comes as a shock.

So…yeah. There’s the moving and shaking I promised you.

I don’t really care to discuss the specifics of what brought on my resignation because I really do value the time spent with the company. Suffice to say, it wasn’t working for me anymore, and I decided to make a change.

I’ll miss a lot of things (especially people). It definitely feels like a new chapter is starting. Marriage. New job. New apartment.

Phew.

Well, here goes!

