I Love Lamp

We bought a lamp yesterday.

I know when I say that, it doesn’t sound like a big deal. But for the future husband and I, that lamp was THE deal.

We literally stood staring at it after we’d put it together, his ark around my shoulders like we were watching our firstborn cross the graduation stage.

“I’m so damn proud of that lamp,” he said softly, surprised that he could feel such strong emotions toward an appliance.

I tell ya what. Marriage is about a hell of a lot more than the wedding. (I’m so wise, right?) But these days, my absolute favorite thing to do is spend a few hours arranging the new apartment with the fiance.

Look at it this way: It took us all of four minutes (and $40) to get our marriage license. The actual ceremony will be about half an hour. But we’re going to spend potentially years staring at that lamp.

We’re putting together a life, not just a living room.

Sorry for getting all mushy. Guess you’ll have to blame the fact that we’re under the two-week mark.

And, you know, that it is a pretty sweet lamp.

3 thoughts on “I Love Lamp

  1. AWW. We definitely did the same put-it-together-and-then-stare-at-it-proudly thing, too. 🙂 Excited for you!

  2. But alas, you forget to mention that … you did indeed put the “lamp” together but WHO put the TABLE together!!! YES YES you go girl!!!

Comments are closed.