Didja miss me?

We’re back!! And you, my dear reader, are officially reading the blog of an old married lady. Gawd, you’re so unhip now…

I had been hoping to blog throughout the honeymoon (albeit sporadically) to avoid the unpleasant task of summing up a three-week trip in a single post, alas, my phone did not work in Europe. So…cliff notes it is.

The trouble with really big trips, especially to cool locations, is that when someone says, “Tell me all about your trip!@!!” …you really can’t. I mean, not the way they want you to. Sure, we could sit down for a few days and I could give you the play-by-play, but you really don’t care that much. So I say, “It was SO great; great food, weather, monuments, etc.” And you’re fine with that. Plus, we really just strolled about and took in the sights (and food), so there aren’t really a lot of “stories,” per say.

Well, maybe a couple.

Before I tell you the first one, there are a couple of things you need to know. First, the first day we spent in Paris it was Easter Sunday. We had a very early flight, and nothing was open by the time we rolled into our hotel. Well, almost nothing.

What I’m saying is, we had our first Parisien meal in a McDonald’s.

Were we ashamed? A little. But the fact remained that we were hungrier than we were ashamed. And I ordered in French, so that has to count for something.

And here’s something: McDonald’s in Europe is awesome. So much better than here. The “McCafe” has actual pastries and fancies coffees, and there are way more menu options. (Well, it may be that we have this in America, too, I just really haven’t been in a McDonald’s in a really long time. But I’m betting it’s Europe.)

So we ate fast food on our fancy vacation. No regrets.

In a similar vein, we also got food poisoning. No, not from McDonald’s. We don’t actually know which eating establishment knocked us on our rear ends for a solid 36 hours, but we have a couple theories. The most likely suspect is this little place we stopped for a late lunch in Montmartre after checking out a Dali museum exhibit. The food didn’t exactly look as if it had been properly refrigerated prior to consumption, and it was about nine hours later that the illness began, so you be the judge.

Now, neither of us had ever had food poisoning before, so there was no way to know exactly what to expect. For those of you who have never had the pleasure, it’s basically a really concentrated stomach flu. (Well, at least the variety we had. I googled it when I became desperate for any kind of relief, and apparently there are five different kinds of food poisoning. Fun!)

I can honestly say I have never been so miserable in my life. Everything hurt or made me nauseous. And the worst part (besides everything about food poisoning) is that it called off our spontaneously planned trip to Paris Disneyland AND Versailles. I have never been so disappointed in my life.

But really, the trip was a ton of fun overall. We saw so much, had some really great food, and came home feeling so relaxed.

Now, you know I can’t waste the whole trip in a single post, so remind me tomorrow to tell you about our trip home. It was a doozy. Here’s a few hints: There’s an eleven-hour airport lock-in and a bunch of French guys who think Joey’s (oh yeah, we decided I can start calling him Joey now that things are a bit more official) last name is hilarious.

A bientot!

One thought on “Didja miss me?

  1. So glad you were able to go! So glad you’re both back in one piece! We DO want to hear everything, but will be patient.

Comments are closed.