Steps to Greatness

52 stairs at my train stop.
38 stairs in Penn.
135 stairs at my subway stop.
Grand total: 225 stairs every morning.

My commute is my own personal stairmaster.

I guess that’s how I can console myself on days I don’t make it to the gym.

Speaking of physical fitness, I started my marathon training last night! First, I had the first of my two discounted personal training sessions. The new gym offers them for really cheap, so I might have to get more. Plus, my trainer is running a half in June, so she had some good training insights. And I just appreciate having someone kick my butt now and then, ok?

Then I ran two and a half interval miles (one minute fast walking, three minutes running, wash, rinse, repeat). I actually felt like I could have gone longer, but I don’t want to push myself too early. I’m one of those people who tends to have great practices only to choke or get sick or something right before the final performance, so I want to get this right. Plus, two and a half miles is pretty good for me lately, so don’t knock it.

The new gym is literally within walking distance of the new apartment, so I think that will make me pretty likely to go. And if I do have the training sessions…well, let’s say I don’t want to see her face after I’ve skipped a session. My trainer is tiny, but she looks like she could take me down.

