So not like me.

I forgot to wear my wedding rings yesterday.

It’s only happened once or twice before, but it’s weird how that simple thing can make me feel not quite like myself.

Plus there’s that moment of “ohmygodilostititwasstolenitwasspiritedawaybyelves!!!!”

…or maybe that’s just me?

It’s a little unnerving how little things like that can make you feel like an entirely different person. For example, I’m one of those people who doesn’t really feel like myself when, in my opinion, I’m dressed frumpily.

One time, I had to wear my glasses because my eyes were especially dry (I’m almost always in contacts), I wore my hair in a ponytail because it was dirty, and I wore flats (in general I wear some kind of heel…short girls gotta do what short girls gotta do). Joey and I went out that night to meet up with some friends, and he kept sneaking glances at me.

“You’ve got the whole secretary thing going on tonight,” he said finally. I think he meant it as a compliment, but the fact was, we both agreed the “secretary thing” was not my usual style. When our friends arrived later, they didn’t even recognize me across the dimly lit bar.

“I’ve never seen you in flats!” my friend Heather exclaimed.”Brett had to point you out — you’re so little!”

Make no mistake, I wasn’t insulted, and Heather didn’t mean it as a bad thing. I mean, I know I’m on the shorter side of average. I just mean it all reconfirmed for me that I wasn’t myself. At least in appearance anyway.

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. I think everyone has that one thing that they wear every day (a watch, perfume, lucky underwear, etc.) that they feel a little lost without. And everyone has tried some fashion look only to realize that they just can’t pull it off.

I guess the bright side of knowing what isn’t you is that it probably has given you a better idea of what is. Me? I’m a married chick who needs some help in the height department. I can deal with that.

2 thoughts on “So not like me.

  1. People from Coffee Bean don’t recognize me without my hat and apron. I definitely understand how the whole Clark Kent/Superman deception works.

  2. I am known for only wearing heels everyday. If I wear flats, people comment on my shortness! Oh well, there could be worse things!

Comments are closed.