So…wanna talk about the weather?

I almost hate to even bring it up because there are already so many people freaking out (see also: my lack of mentioning a certain earthquake), but apparently we’re supposed to have a hurricane this weekend.

My real question is: Am I being super naive by not freaking out? Because I’m just not. And as far as I can tell, no one around me is freaking out either. (By “around,” I mean the people literally in my vicinity and whom I talk to. I know there are people in New York as a whole who are frantic.)

I mean, no one is boarding up windows or piling up their cars to get out of town. The most anyone has done is stock up on groceries and bottled water. (Which we did…but more just to feel involved.)

Part of the problem could be that I don’t watch TV. Any news I get is from online sources, and until NYTimes.com has a giant “GET OUT OF DODGE, KIDDIES!” headline on the homepage, I’m probably going to continue business as usual.

***Edit: Ohhhh, Irony. Turns out the homepage of NYTimes.com is quite similar to that this morning (which I checked about an hour after writing this post…). But for realz, still not sure if I should be fleeing??

Yesterday, my cousin texted me and asked if we were evacuating. I was literally sitting at my desk at work eating my second breakfast. My first thought: “Umm…would that be a good idea?”

I guess I put a lot of faith in the fact that if my life was in danger, more people around me would let me know. That either makes me incredibly self-centered or incredibly useless. Maybe both.

But seriously. As I type this, I’m sitting on the train with the same people I commute with every day. Unless everyone plans on sprinting from the East Coast the second they get out of work today, I feel like I’m not the only one carrying on like this is any other weekend. Albeit one where we will get a lot of rain. But that’s not exactly newsworthy this summer.

I guess what I’m saying is, if I’m missing something, could someone let le know? Because otherwise I just plan on spending the weekend hunkered down with the hubster fixing up the apartment and saying thing like, “Yup, still rainin’.”

2 thoughts on “So…wanna talk about the weather?

  1. Talk to your oldest brother about a fun little vacation he had down at grandma’s place in Venice during a hurricane. He and his wife were at first pretty cavaler about the experience, even after the police were on loudspeakers telling everyone to leave, and even after the island’s only way out was closed. When it hit they were quite, um, affected shall we say? At the minimum, I’d recommend working with your in-laws on plans for various contingencies.

  2. I stockpiled my basement with assault rifles, Cheetos, red bull and every season of 24. I’m ready for a hurricane…or the zombie apocalypse, which ever comes first.

Comments are closed.