Bruschetta Brush-Up

I’m having another Hoo-Sha Day. But this time it’s just because literally everything I have tried to do today has gone wrong. EVERYTHING. And I’ve gotten lost driving at least six times today. SIX.

And I just feel slightly off-balance. Aboo.

BUT. There are still things to be positive about. (Said the eternal optimist.) For one, I’m working on a semi-secret project to celebrate my upcoming THIRD blogiversary (better name for that event to come). I’ll probably tell you if you ask me on a not-public forum, but I’m going to keep it under wraps here for a bit. Suffice to say, I’m super excited, and so far have received mostly favorable responses.

Second, I have a cooking post for you!

So yesterday I was just kind of cold and tired and feeling like I could possibly be getting sick. Naturally, I wanted something warm and comforting for dinner. So I decided to make Italian wedding soup and bruschetta.

Both of these lovely recipes are courtesy of my momma, via the cookbook she HAND-WROTE for me as a wedding present. Gotta love that woman.

So you already have the soup recipe, but here is the quick and dirty on how to make the bruschetta.

First, slice a loaf of Italian bread into 3/4-inch slices. Put them on a baking sheet and spray the top side with olive oil. Put them in the oven for 5-11 minutes at 350 degrees or until they’re golden brown.

image

While the bread is toasting, mix a pint of diced cherry tomatoes (or just three regular guys like I used), 4 cloves of garlic* diced, 6 large basil leaves diced, a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

image

image

Once the bread is done, top each slice with 2-3 spoonfuls of the tomato mixture. Sliced fresh mozzarella is optional.

image

And that’s it! A completely nom-worthy appetizer. After the bruschetta and soup, I felt like a new woman. And you will too! (Unless you’re a man. In which case, you hopefully will still feel like a man.)

*The reason I only used one clove of garlic is because that is one giant piece of garlic. It’s called elephant garlic. The ONE clove actually ended up being a tiny bit TOO MUCH garlic. So…wield your elephant garlic wisely.

