Things I like

“My husband and I don’t have a great ‘meeting’ story. We met in a conventional way and had a conventional wedding. And in some sense, we lead a conventional life.

But my husband has seen me at my worst, at my most vile. And he has seen me at my best. He knows the things I don’t tell anyone, and the lies that I tell everyone but him. I have made sacrifices for him and been angry about it. Sometimes his flaws are so egregious, so blatant, they are all I see. And sometimes his kindness is so stunning that I am humbled.

And that’s love. Big, epic, fairy-tale love. The kind of love people write about.”

I really, really enjoyed this story. Thought you all might too.

6 thoughts on “Things I like

  1. Thank you. That story is beautiful, especially the part you pulled out, and I think I’ll share that with my husband tonight.

  2. Blogs should have a facebook “like” feature for lazy commenters like myself. I have nothing more to add, other than I liked this.

  3. Okay, so this is funny. I read that column every week & read this one & groaned almost the entire time, BUT when I read that excerpt out of context…I really appreciated it. Thanks for showing me that there was some reason that it got published in NYT in between my groans.

Comments are closed.