You are what you eat. Well…at least I’m sweet.

In general, I consider myself a pretty healthy person. I eat loads of vegetables, and I actually like them. I run fairly regularly. I drink over a gallon of water every day.

Sometimes, though…well, sometimes things go awry.

I blame this time of year. Do you realize how much crap (albeit delicious, delicious crap) I’m surrounded with from mid-October to mid-February?

Of course you do. Because you are surrounded with it too.

Let me give you a little run-down of everything I ate yesterday:

1. Two blueberry muffins (although this was my own fault…but they were small and homemade so….get off me)
2. A pumpkin scone (ok, I know I said I only eat one of these a year, but this was NOT a Starbucks pumpkin scone; it was also homemade and a girl in my office brought them in and it was small and GET OFF ME)
3. Four mini Reeses Peanut Butter Cups
5. A salad (hooray for me)
6. A mini Three Musketeers bar
7. Two MORE mini Reeses Peanut Butter Cups
8. A sensible dinner I made. It involved asparagus, shrimp, and part-skim ricotta cheese, if only so my body would not succumb to scurvy.

I did go running at least, so maybe that will counter-balance the roughly 1,000 extra calories I consumed. Except…not.

I actually avoid dieting on purpose, mostly because the second I tell myself I can’t have something, it is all. I. Can. Think. About. And I believe everything in moderation. And, you know, pumpkin scones and Reeses Peanut Butter Cups are delicious.

However, I can’t help but notice that what I fuel myself with drastically effects how I function. (Despite taking in almost exclusively refined and processed carbs yesterday, my run was fairly difficult. Who knew?)(Oh yeah, every doctor ever.)

I’d like to say that this is me kicking off a month of health and eschewing all things amazingsugary, but I also don’t like to lie to you. And I already told you, I don’t cut things out of my diet completely. (Unless it’s like, arsenic. Or trans fats.) Besides, I work out so I can eat more. Duh. (Well, and because it’s good for the heart and whatever. But mostly so I can eat more.)

That being said, part of that whole “moderation” theory means not going overboard in the other direction, either. So, body, this is me formally apologizing and promising not to have a chocolate and peanut butter free-for-all again…for at least a while.

Please tell me I’m not the only one whose office looks like a bakery these days? I can only imagine what will happen in December…

2 thoughts on “You are what you eat. Well…at least I’m sweet.

  1. Thats not do bad, at least it wasn’t a gallon of
    Ice cream in lue of the gallon of water. Adam (the best personal trainer in the world) told us yesterday that whenever you have a shock day, eating things that you normally don’t ie: junk food, that actually helps your body burn more fat. You have now tricked your body into believing that today you will be feeding yourself the same foods and right now your metabolism is revving! So…. Treat yourself!

  2. Pingback: Plus she can tell me the future because it’s 3 hours ahead there. « i know you didn't ask…

Comments are closed.