Green is Good

As you know, I’ve been trying to be a bit more proactive about actually making things I see on Pinterest. And I’ve decided that goes beyond the crafts to also include some of the rather tasty looking foods on there. So I was instantly intrigued when I saw these bad boys:

Spinach? BURGERS? Oxymoron, you say? NAY!

Not everyone likes vegetables. Some people don’t care for them. Some people hate them.

I am not one of those people.

I’ve always loved broccoli. As I got older, pretty much every vegetable was added to the “I like to eat this a lot” list. (You don’t have that list? Hm…you’re weird.)

I’m also fortunate in that my husband will eat pretty much anything I think up. While he might not go out of his way to eat a hunk of green stuff, if I say, “Wanna try a spinach burger?” he is usually down for a taste test. And so the experiment began.

You can find the full recipe here, but here’s a quick break down:

1. The recipe called for frozen spinach, but I only had a bag of the fresh stuff, so I chopped my own. (Fresh is better anyway, right?) Have I mentioned how much I love my food processor lately?

image

image

2. Then I mixed in half a cup of shredded cheese, have a cup of bread crumbs, 1/4 onion (diced), 2 egg whites, 1 full egg, some garlic powder, salt, and paprika (I didn’t have red pepper flakes).

image

3. Next, heat a large skillet with a bit of cooking spray. Form patties out of the spinach mixture and cook them for 4-6 minutes on each side.

image

That’s it! I don’t have an “after” picture, but not for lack of trying. My final product just wasn’t as pretty as the above. So…if you really need to see a final image, just scroll back up.

I followed the recipes recommendation of adding ranch and hot sauce (well…creamy Italian and taco sauce…I work with what I have), and I highly recommend that preparation.

So there you have it. A delicious meal that’s also high in fiber and protein. And even the husband liked them! Popeye would be proud.

6 thoughts on “Green is Good

  1. Someone should offer us a show called A City Girl and A Country girl. You can make these spinach burgers and I will whip up a big, giant juicy angus beef burger with cheese. With our sense of humor (Dad said, soul sister), I think we could be a hit. We will travel around like those two chicks, Picker Sisters on TV. This was a first for me… I have never laid eyes on real spinach burger.. Seriously, I think those are illegal here in the South.. Happy Friday Justine from your bloggy swap partner!

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back very soon. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

Comments are closed.