It’s not you; it’s me.

Do you ever just instantly not like someone?

I mean, not just think they’re sort of strange, but genuinely dislike them upon meeting? When they haven’t even had a chance to do anything to make you not like them?

I’m really hoping I’m not the only person this happens to, because then I’ll feel like a jerk.

And I say “happens to,” because I sincerely think it is beyond my powers of control. I don’t go into the meeting thinking, “Oh boy, I really can’t wait to be uncomfortable every time we are together!” It just…happens.

And because I’m such a bad liar about my opinions, I feel like it’s really apparent every time I have to talk to said person that I don’t like them, so it really is uncomfortable when we have to talk.

And since I know they didn’t actually do anything to make me not like them, I know I’m being a jerk and hate that.

Therefore, it’s out of my control.

Seriously, does anyone else do this?

