Bean there, done that

This morning I discovered* a Starbucks less than a mile from my office. This is a good and bad.

Bad because I now know where it is and will have to restrain myself regularly.

Good because a day started off with a grande non-fat latte and a gingerbread biscotti is the best kind of day.

Plus, I unloacked a badge for going to 15 different coffee shops on Foursquare. I’m not even going to pretend that doesn’t thrill me.

I’m not really a coffee snob. Similar to my relationship with wine, I can’t really tell the difference between the “good” stuff and the bad. All I know is if I like it or don’t like it.

Usually I’ll hit up McDonald’s for my morning fix (of coffee…not wine…I’m not an alcoholic), but their lattes definitely vear toward the bitter. Dunkin has a decent latte, but it doesn’t quite pack the punch of Starbucks. (At least in my mind.)

Honestly, I make coffee really strong, so as long as I have milk or creamer in the house, I’m just as well off making my own. However, we really need to go grocery shopping…so here we are.

Any true coffee snobs out there care to argue my analysis?

*I never really discover things.

4 thoughts on “Bean there, done that

  1. The only coffee that I can tell is different than any other coffee is cuban coffee. You take a shot of that stuff, and you will be wanting to rob the local Piggly Wiggly. That stuff is strong and makes you crazy. I am pretty sure I was up for 3 days straight. I needed anti-venom to get it out of my system. Girl Scouts Honor!

  2. I know I will be faced with this cunundrum eventually. There are no Starbucks on my way to work, but there is a new little shopping center that popped up that is bound to get one. Then it will be a daily battle to hold my steering wheel on the road to avoid turning in for one of those amazing lattes. I agree on that BTW, I just haven’t found a place that can make consistently good lattes. And I am def. no coffee snob.. but the only coffee I have had that I can truly say is amazing all on it’s own is Blue Mountain Jamacaiin coffee. Seriously, we tried it on our honeymoon and that stuff is GOOD!

    • So glad it isn’t just me! I actually used to work at Starbucks, and it’s part of the training that you have to make each drink EXACTLY the same every time; the idea being that you can go to a Starbucks anywhere in the country and get the same latte. Alas, it seems to have hurt us in the end.

      I’ll keep an eye out for Blue Mountain coffee. Thanks for your comment!

Comments are closed.