Nothing wrong with a neutral

Sometimes I think the best environment for me to get something done is one that is slightly motivated by panic.

Case in point: Remember my little credenza-themed freak-out yesterday? (Also, gawd could I be any more domestic? “Credenza-themed” freak-outs? There are bigger things out there, self.)(To be fair, “freak-out” may be a bit extreme. I was mostly bummed.)

Well, I think the disappointment of the whole thing kicked my super sleuthing skills into overdrive. I was going to find the perfect sideboard/credenza/buffet, and nothing was going to stop me.

Ah the trials of the pseudo housewife.

So I took to the internets. And after only a few Craigslist searches, I actually found something promising. Behold!

I’m going to start with what is not perfect about this credenza and then follow it up with why it’s okay.

First, it’s not 118 inches. But it is 80 inches, making it about two feet longer than your standard buffet.

Second, it isn’t new. But it is mid-century modern, one of my favorite styles. And who doesn’t love a little bit of vintage in their life.

Third, it isn’t from a company that I can write a sharply worded letter to if anything is broken or dinged. But it is much cheaper than any newly purchased option. Plus, let’s not forget the vintage charm.

Fourth, I’m not sure if I can paint it grey. But it is possible that I won’t need to. And I wouldn’t mind leaving the natural wood as long as the condition isn’t too bad.

We’re going to check it out on Wednesday night, so as long as it’s not too dinged up, it will be mine.

So now that I’m switching up my grey, black, white with green accents color scheme with grey, black, white, and brown with green accents, I naturally had to hop over to Pinterest to make sure I wasn’t walking into a big ol’ mess of ugly.

I’ve always liked brown and black and brown and grey in fashion…

…so why couldn’t it work in decor? Fortunately, I found plenty of evidence that it can.



And all with white walls! Perfection.

I’ve also purchased this fabric to make into some curtains (and possible a table runner):

And I’m planning to buy a white rug from IKEA to ground the whole look (as recommended by my design-savvy blogger friend, Emily).

I might move around the wall art a bit too, but that’s all still in the works.

Stay tuned for more updates and pics (if you’re interested in that kind of thing). Big things on the way!

8 thoughts on “Nothing wrong with a neutral

  1. If you don’t like the stain, you can always paint it grey or black. I don’t think you’ve seen MattAtt[ack]’s handiwork, but we sanded and painted a coffee table and I think it looks fabulous and I love looking at it and thinking “we did that!”

    • That’s definitely the back-up plan. But now that I’ve been staring at natural wood credenzas on Pinterest all afternoon, I’m kinda hoping for a good quality finish. Guess we’ll see!

  2. Pingback: Changing it up | Stop Me If You've Heard This One

  3. Pingback: How’s it hanging? | Stop Me If You've Heard This One

  4. Pingback: Dining in style | Stop Me If You've Heard This One

Comments are closed.