Making my move

Hey everybody!

Ok, so BIG news. (In my world…) My blog is officially self-hosted!

Well, technically not this blog. Look at your browser URL. Does it say https://stopmeifyouveheardthisone.wordpress.com? If so, you are on the old non-hosted blog. Womp womp.

All you need to do? Go to http://stopmeifyouveheardthisone.com.

Ooh, so fresh and so clean! Right? It would also be a good idea to update your Google readers to the new (sexier) URL.

EDIT: A reader pointed out that when you put the new URL in Google reader, it converts it to the old URL. BAD GOOGLE READER! You can use this link instead: http://stopmeifyouveheardthisone.com/feed/ (Sometimes I think technology hates me.)

Once you get to the new site (there will be a post there to welcome you so you know you’ve gone to the right place), you’ll officially be on the hosted version.

Exciting, right?

The only non-exciting part: If you’re subscribed to this blog, you’ll need to resubscribe to the new, hosted blog. I know, it’s beyond lame and I hate it. But the process is exactly the same, so it’s not a scary change. And the hosted blog looks exactly the same as this blog, so you don’t even have to mentally adjust!

Have questions? Feel free to leave them in the comments, and I’ll get right back to you. (Oh, that reminds me, if you’ve made comments since I made the switch, they won’t appear on the new site. Also lame and also something I hate. Fortunately, the switch only happened about a half hour ago, so there are only a few getting lost. Feel free to repost!)

3 thoughts on “Making my move

  1. I can’t put this in my Google Reader for some reason… I copy the new self-hosted link, put it into the subscribe box…and bam, it subscribes me to the old WordPress…it even shows the WP icon on the side bar where it shows my subscriptions. What to do, what to do?

Comments are closed.