How to: Easy Kale Chip Recipe

I honestly could not tell you why it took me so long to attempt this recipe. I’ve been wanting to try kale chips pretty much from the first moment I knew they existed. (A new way to eat veggies? A crunchy, healthy snack? I’m on board.)

Even more embarrassing, the recipe is beyond simple. Like, you’re pretty much done making them before you even have a chance to worry if you’ve messed them up.

Let’s begin. I started by following a recipe by my blog/Twitter friend, Madison Mayberry. I highly recommend her tip of cutting out the stems from the kale leaves. It would probably be ok with the stems, but they’re definitely tougher and take away from the whole “chip” feel.

First, place your de-stemmed and torn leaves on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. You can follow Madison’s steps of mixing olive oil, minced garlic, and parmesan and then drizzling over the leaves, which was quite tasty, or you can try this slightly accelerated version (if you’re like me and are too impatient to get to the eating).

I have a Misto, which is basically an olive oil sprayer, but you could also use any old spray bottle filled with olive oil. Mist the leaves, sprinkle with garlic (or garlic salt if you’re really in a rush), and add a dash or parmesan.

Then bake the chips for 8-10 minutes at 400 degrees Fahrenheit. I recommend checking on the chips often because they can cook pretty quickly. A little bit of char isn’t bad, but if you want them to look a little fresher, you can shorten the cooking time.

And that is literally it! And guys. They are so good. I literally ate that whole bowl myself, then had to make a second batch to share with the hubs. He doesn’t even love vegetables the way I do, and he was still impressed with how good the flavor was.

Has anyone ever attempted these before? Any tips or variations to suggest?

4 thoughts on “How to: Easy Kale Chip Recipe

    • If he hadn’t gotten out of the shower right when the second batch finished baking, I probably would have eaten that one too haha

  1. Kale chips are amazing! And I have also been known to eat entire sheet with out sharing…oops. If you want a tasty variation that has a flavor similar to BBQ chips, I sprinkled a Smoky Barbecue Rub from the Pampered Chef on my last batch and WOW. Pretty much irresistible 🙂

Comments are closed.