Hairstyles for Growing Out Your Bangs

My hair is generally in one of three states: getting used to new bangs, rocking the perfect bangs (this is the most short-lived state), and growing out bangs.

If you’ve been reading my blog for more than a year, you probably know where this is going.

I tend to cut bangs at the end of every summer. I don’t know why it always happens around then, but it does. By summer, though, I’m tired of hair in my face (humidity, yo) and ready for something simpler.

Which lands me squarely in the third state. It’s not so cute.

I recently cut about three inches off my hair (yay, faster drying times!), but I didn’t have them cut the bangs so they will hopefully grow out a little quicker. I want my hair to look like this:

58e839e852b9479d373f37c2044d31f0

But obviously that’s going to take a little while. For now, I thought I’d share my years of wisdom about how to style grown-out bangs (sans butterfly clips) in a way that won’t drive you crazy.

braided bang diy updo

Is the Braided Bang a revolutionary style? Nope! But far be it from me to discount the tried-and-true. The best part of the braided bang is that it can be tweaked into a few different styles. Create a braid on both sides of your part for a mermaid-y half-updo. Gently pull the braid apart to create a bolder, thicker strand. Do a “backwards” french braid for a more prominent “wrapped” look.

The possibilities are endless! And the best part is, bangs are cleverly concealed and out of your face.

wrap and roll DIY updo

 

The Wrap & Roll updo is one of my faves because it not only gets your bangs out of your face, it contains all the hair up and off your neck. (Perfect if you live somewhere with humid summers…hypothetically…ohmygosh it’s so humid right now.)

This has definitely become my new go-to style for dirty hair days — clean hair will slip out of the rolls. Basically, all you do is brush your (dirty) hair, then slip an elastic headband over it (kind of Gatsby-style). Then, starting with your bangs, roll and tuck the pieces until you get to the back of your head. Repeat on the other side, then take the two end pieces, twist them together, and tuck into the back of the headband. Pin in place if you have any straggling pieces.

So now you know how I’m getting through this difficult time.

Any other hide-the-bangs tutorials I need to know about? Share links in the comments — lord knows I need the help.

2 thoughts on “Hairstyles for Growing Out Your Bangs

  1. You are clearly an inspiration to us all Justine. Or at least to those who HAVE hair.

Comments are closed.