It’s getting hot in here.

To those of you who are getting a little bit tired of my sunshine-y, “pregnancy is great and easy!” attitude, I have good news: Things are starting to get a little uncomfortable around here.

I have to admit, I still don’t really feel like I should complain all that much. All in all, I really have enjoyed being pregnant. So far, I would not be scared to do this again.

But, it has to be said, people aren’t kidding when they say the end of pregnancy isn’t all rainbows and puppies.

After months of wishing and hoping for my belly to actually resemble that of a pregnant woman, I’m getting my wish — and then some. So far, I’ve got a perfectly manageable soccer ball-sized bump. But I’ve also got two and a half more months to go. And if her activity level is any indication, the little miss doesn’t show any signs of slowing down on development.

Adios, seeing my toes. I barely knew ye.

Speaking of that activity level. Joey and I apparently knew what we were doing when we settled on the name Vivian (which means “vivacious or full of life”). This girl boogies for hours at a time, and she pretty much stages her own Spring Spectacular every evening while I’m resting on the couch. (Complete with a lot of high-kicks and jazz hands, natch.)

Fortunately, while it’s sometimes a little surprising to get a jab in the gut from a pint-sized fist, I wouldn’t trade those pokes and prods for anything. I think the kicking will be what I miss most about pregnancy. (That and the fact that in vitro Vivi never talks back.)

Of course, talk to me again in another month and we’ll see if I’m still charmed.

Another pregnancy thing that isn’t just a bit in “Father of the Bride Part II”? Pregnant ladies are hot.

That’s with one T, as in temperature-wise. (Though I like to think my husband still thinks I’m pretty cute.)

Normally, I’m the girl who always has to bring a sweater and shivers through even the sunniest 60-degree day. Joey and I regularly debate about the definition of what is cold because anything about 70 makes him sweat.

Well, babe, I’m right there with you these days.

And, of course, I managed to get pregnant just in time for my third trimester to coincide with the hottest months of the year in New York. August is going to be brutal, folks.

So things are a little uncomfortable these days. And hot. And wiggly. But for now, I’m just trying to dress comfortably, drink loads of water, and enjoy it as much as I can.

Any tips and tricks from other mommas for surviving the summer whilst pregnant?

One thought on “It’s getting hot in here.

  1. I had a winter baby, so I had the opposite problem as you: no coat would close up around my belly and the howling wind from this bitter winter was pretty miserable. But if I had a summer baby (and if the AC in my apartment wasn’t cutting it), I’d spend a lot of time on the couch with my feet in tub of cool water and a fan blowing right on me. For me, if my feet are hot, it’s awful. But definitely drink tons of liquids, keep your hair off of your neck and wear lots of dresses!
    I think Vivian is a great name!

Comments are closed.