Vivi’s Nursery Reveal

I love when I promise you guys a post about a certain topic and am actually able to deliver in a reasonable amount of time. You know, instead of cowering around here in shame, avoiding eye contact because I know, I KNOW, you guys.

On a not totally unrelated note, I’m ready to share pictures of Vivian’s nursery! (Can you believe it? Remember 2011 Justine and her empty promises of apartment posts? She was a real flake.)

A while back, I shared the plan for what I wanted to do in our tiny back bedroom, and in general, I didn’t stray too far from that original vision. First, the photos:

11899924_10100231663920781_306018259876814684_n

11949399_10100231663761101_4778622236901611493_n

11880602_10100231663885851_4478222062761806388_n

11222078_10100231663855911_2480002366290497491_n

11223895_10100231663960701_1430736059188767499_n

11949374_10100231663806011_3669631205862286512_n

Let’s talk details. The first big decision I made about the room was the crib I wanted. I knew I wanted something white and modern that could easily be reused in the future if we had another baby, regardless if it was a boy or a girl. My parents generously offered to purchase this adorable model. If, for whatever reason we don’t have a second tot or we wait a while longer, this crib also converts into a toddler bed so Vivi can get plenty of use out of it. Plus, I LOVE that extra storage drawer for her sheets and the FIVE handmade blankets she has been lovingly given so far.

The first actual purchase I made for her room, though, was this super soft shag rug. Our entire apartment is floored with tile, which while cool in the summer, I imagine will be a little chilly in the colder months. The rug is fluffy and cozy as can be, and I can totally imagine Vivi crawling around on it when she’s a bit older.

Next, I was pretty thrilled to find this mid-century modern dresser on Craigslist after MONTHS of searching. As I said, the room itself is pretty small, so it took a while to find something within my budget that was also the perfect size for the space. This one has been impeccably maintained, and it provides tons of needed storage for the room.

The leaning bookshelf and rolling cart from IKEA were both items we had previously, meaning they didn’t cost a penny to add to the room. Dontcha love that? And considering one of Vivi’s showers was book-themed, it was nice to have a place to display her new library.

The picture frames were all mostly repurposed from other rooms in the apartment or given to me by friends who were doing their own clean-outs. I filled those with some of our maternity pictures and this and this from Etsy. Obviously I have a couple baby stock photos to replace once our actual baby arrives, but you get the idea of how it will look. I was also excited to be able to display the flower crowns my sister-in-law made for our gender reveal party — they match everything perfectly. I also added this light-blocking curtain from Target — in hopes of creating an environment where Vivi will just love to sleep.

Finally, those peonies on the wall. I was inspired to do some kind of flower mural by pictures I spotted on Pinterest, but I have to admit I was pretty nervous when it came time to put paint to wall. I am not really much of an artist (pretty much all of my flowers look like the ones you’re looking at), and I’d never done anything on this scale before. When I painted the first layer, they mostly just looked like coral-y blobs, and I was convinced I had ruined everything. Then I started to even everything out, sort of the way I would pastels or even watercolor paints, and slowly the actual flowers took shape. Adding the stems also really helped to ground the whole thing and keep it from looking too floaty and girlie. Now that everything is in place, I’m glad I went for it and think they give the whole room a lot of character.

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with how the whole thing turned out. The room has a really cozy vibe when you first walk in, which, again, will hopefully be helpful in convincing our little lady to learn to sleep through the night quickly. (Are you sensing a pattern here?)

A couple of caveats before I can officially call the room DONE: I’m still waiting on the arrival of our mint glider. That should arrive by September 9th, though, so never fear. I’m planning to put it where you currently see Vivi’s swing chair. (Her chair, by the way? SO COOL. I can control it from my phone. It’s amazing.) I’m also waiting on this bear print that will most likely end up over the dresser somewhere, and this pillow to prop up in the glider.

It’s kind of incredible what a sense of relief I have now that the nursery is baby-ready. (I also spent the weekend packing our hospital bags, so that’s probably giving me a sense of ease as well.) Considering the little lady could make her appearance any time in the next 2-4 weeks (eek!), it’s nice knowing I can check off these huge to-dos. I can’t wait to bring her home!

3 thoughts on “Vivi’s Nursery Reveal

  1. Wow! It’s amazing. I love how everything comes together. You have a great eye for design. I’m sure Vivi will love her room. As for sleep, the best thing you can do is keep a consistent pattern to putting her to bed. The other lifesaver is a pacifier, but it took us three different tries to find one that my son would like. I only give it to him to sleep (naps + bedtime), so he only associates it with that and he doesn’t crawl around with it in his mouth 24/7. Vivi might hate pacifiers like some other kids I know, but you’ll find what she likes in no time. There’s plenty of get to know you time 🙂

Comments are closed.